Vehicle standards

We’ll only accept vehicle applications from new licensees if your vehicle meets the approved standards.

If you already hold a vehicle licence with us, and your existing vehicle does not comply with these standards, then you have until 31 December 2025 to licence a compliant vehicle. In the meantime, you should refer to the set of conditions which were issued along with your current licence.

Vehicle emissions and age

Vehicles with a petrol engine must meet the ‘Euro 4’ standard.

Vehicles with a diesel engine must meet the ‘Euro 6’ standard.

Wheelchair accessible vehicles installed with retrofit technology must be approved as part of the Clean Vehicle Retrofit Accreditation Scheme, and must be under 19 years old at the point of application. These type of vehicles will not be relicensed once they reach 20 years old.

Vehicle testing

All vehicles under 3 years old will need a vehicle test on application and on every point of renewal.

All vehicles over 3 years old will need testing every 6 months.

General standards

Your vehicle must meet the EU category M1 standard. Any modified vehicle at category M1 standard must have an appropriate test to make sure it conforms with single vehicle type approval.

Your vehicle must not have:

  • any roof signs if it's a private hire vehicle
  • any advertising other than the operator name and signage issued by us
  • any magnetic stickers

We may approve some adverts on hackney carriages only.

You can find the accepted vehicle make and models on the:

If you're considering applying to licence a vehicle that does not appear on these lists, email

Private hire vehicles must not be of such design and appearance that could be mistaken for a Hackney Carriage.

You must supply a basic DBS certificate as part of a vehicle application if you're not already a licensed driver with Stockport Council.

Window tints

Window tints must meet the following specifications:

  • front windscreens must have a minimum of 75% light transmission

  • front side door glass must have a minimum of 70% light transmission

All other window tints must be factory fitted.

Accepted categories

We may accept Category N vehicles (formerly known as Category D) if you provide a report from an engineer confirming that the vehicle has sustained no structural damage and that it's safe and suitable to be licensed. The report must be carried out by an authorised mechanic approved by the council and suitably competent to assess the damage.

We will not accept Category S vehicles (formerly known as Category C).

Vehicle conditions

Your vehicle must meet the following conditions:

hackney vehicle conditions
private hire vehicle conditions

If you’re not sure whether your new vehicle meets these standards, before booking your vehicle test, email us at with the vehicle details.