School term dates

1. 2018 - 2019 term dates

Terms dates may differ for voluntary aided schools and schools with Trust or Academy status, as these schools are able to set their own calendar. You will be able to get further information by contacting the individual school.

Autumn Term 2018

  • Term starts: Monday 3 September
  • Half term holiday: Monday 22 to Friday 26 October
  • Term ends: Wednesday 19 December

Spring Term 2019

  • Term starts: Thursday 3 January
  • Half term holiday: Monday 18 to Friday 22 February
  • Term ends: Friday 5 April
  • Spring break: Monday 8 April to Monday 22 April

Summer Term 2019

  • Term starts: Tuesday 23 April
  • May Day: Monday 6 May
  • Half term holiday for primary: Monday 27 May to Friday 7 June
  • Half term holiday for secondary: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
  • Term ends for primary: Tuesday 30 July
  • Term ends for secondary: Tuesday 23 July

You can also view the term dates in the calendars below:

School holiday and term dates 2018-19

PDF, 188 KB

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Schools also have up to 5 days per academic year for staff training. Individual schools will notify parents of when these days will be taken and children will not be in school.

You can also view the In-Service Training (INSET) days for the 2018-19 academic year below: