Stockport Symphony Orchestra - Mahler 5

Details box

  • Date and time

    Saturday 09 November 2019 19:30 - 21:45
  • Price

    £15. £13 concession. £5 student. Accompanied children under 16 free
  • Location

    Stockport Town Hall, Edward Street, Stockport, SK1 3XE
  • Booking information
    Book your place


“A reincarnation of Solomon and all his glory, palpitates in all colours of the rainbow; from the vigorous and transparent orchestration emerge waves of sound that seem to soar upward in stupendous vortices and fall back in a shower of myriads of iridescent drops”.

The fantasy for cello, ‘Schelomo’, is played tonight by Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra principal cellist, Jonathan Aasgaard whose many recordings include one of the most highly rated performances of the piece. It’s followed by a symphony which for many remains associated with the haunting score to Visconti’s “Death in Venice”.

Bloch, Schelomo
Mahler, Symphony No 5

Mark Heron, conductor
Jonathan Aasgaard, cello