Stockport Symphony Orchestra - Leningrad

Details box

  • Date and time

    Saturday 25 January 2020 19:30 - 21:45
  • Price

    £15. £13 concession. £5 student. Accompanied children under 16 free
  • Location

    Stockport Town Hall, Edward Street, Stockport, SK1 3XE
  • Booking information
    Book your place


Martyn Jackson has performed several times as Assistant Leader of the London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia and BBC Symphony Orchestras and been invited to play with principal players from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra in Milan and Rome. Tonight, Martyn plays the popular Bruch violin concerto.

Shostakovich was at the Leningrad Conservatoire when the siege of that city began and started his Seventh Symphony in July 1941. “Neither savage raids, German planes, nor the grim atmosphere of the beleaguered city could hinder the flow,” he said. “I worked with an inhuman intensity I have never before reached.”

Bruch, Violin Concerto 1
Shostakovich, Symphony 7 - ‘Leningrad’

Robert Guy, conductor
Martyn Jackson, violin