Admissions explained

5. Secondary school policies

Stockport has 14 secondary schools consisting of:

  • 5 maintained schools - Bramhall High School, Marple Hall School, Priestnall School, Stockport School and Werneth School
  • 6 academy schools - Cheadle Hulme High School, Hazel Grove High School, Laurus Cheadle Hulme, Reddish Vale High School, Stockport Academy and The Kingsway School
  • 3 voluntary aided schools - Harrytown Catholic High School, St Anne’s Roman Catholic High School and St James Catholic High School

A number of these schools operate with different oversubscription criteria, it's advised that you understand the admission arrangements for the schools you intend to apply for. All schools with the exception of Stockport Academy and Laurus Cheadle Hulme have catchment areas. You can use the catchment area checker to view the catchment area maps and use your postcode to check which catchment area you reside in (both schools without catchment areas will be listed as schools within your area).

For further information for parents and carers, please view the applying for secondary school booklet 2019-20 (PDF 1.02Mb) Relevant aspects of the document are:

  • admissions arrangements for Stockport secondary schools, including oversubscription criteria, pages 12 to 16
  • frequently asked questions, pages 19 to 24
  • schools information and contact details, pages 27 to 29

For other academy, free school and Catholic secondary school oversubscription criteria, please view the school admissions policy and procedures 2019-20 (PDF 1.13Mb)